the Ongoing Beginning

Where we are now:

It is January 3, 2018. I am out of bed for a while, actually typing comfortably, and have eaten two (count ’em: 2 [two]) meals, without getting sick. That’s the first time in five days, I’m strong enough to sit but not stand for too long a stretch.

Now that we’ve got THAT out of the way… …

I’m working on a very pivotal set of scenes for the support character Marcus, a Sicilian kidnapped for sale to an evil cult calling itself the Makers of Oracles. It is, so far, an episodic narrative beginning with his first contact with the main character, Aisha, whose story this is. But Marcus will be the focus of the next book of this trilogy, which will begin the epic saga of Nosferatas, father of werewolves, vampires, and all things vile and creepy and strange. The scene I’m working on now is the one that sends Marcus on his quest to find and rescue Aisha, any of his fellow residents of The Abbey who might have survived the raid. He has lots of help (most of it unappreciated) but little direction.

He has begun to pronounce curses upon all things Egyptian, starting with the food.

And, while I have some pretty well-developed characters in this arsenal, it is still a fact that even since my 75th birthday last year, I must continue to grow myself as an individual and a writer, or my characters can not flourish either.

Going on From Here

I invite you to join me in my personal journey of discovery and investigation. When I have Marcus aligned with Aisha’s resolution, I’ll be re-writing parts of the Bible (reverently and respectfully) and producing short visual representations. I will be developing a third character later, and my co-author, BC Royale, will be responsible for most of the development of the female character, Aisha.

Fitting it all together should provide lots of exercise for our Skype accounts. I will share notes, here, on our progress, and use this forum for some of my self-discovery exercises.

Feel free to comment, share, question, inform, and/or critique. If you absolutely must hate on me, do that too, and then, please, refrain from reading. I’d like to say (altruistically) that this blog is for my readers. Alas, this I can not do. This blog is for ME. If you get something from it, also, that’s gravy on the biscuit.

Until next week, it’s Aunt Katy (aka Myrna K Throckmorton,) bringing it up a notch!

Leave a comment